logo

Book Editions

coverthe holy earth - cover - smallerSeries: The Liberty Hyde Bailey Library, a series of primary and secondary works by and about Liberty Hyde Bailey, to be published under the Comstock Publishing Associates imprint of Cornell University Press. John Linstrom, series editor. First volume forthcoming 2021. [Under contract; peer-reviewed.]

Bailey, Liberty Hyde. The Liberty Hyde Bailey Gardener's Companion: Essential Writings. Edited by John A. Stempien and John Linstrom, Ithaca, NY, Comstock-Cornell UP, 2019 [peer-reviewed].

Bailey, L. H. The Holy Earth. 1915. Edited by John Linstrom, introduction by Wendell Berry, Authoritative Text, Centennial Edition, Berkeley, Counterpoint, 2015.

Academic Essays

Cowritten with Daniel Rinn: "Agrarian 'Naturism': Liberty Hyde Bailey and the Michigan Frontier." The Sower and the Seer: Perspectives on the Intellectual History of the American Midwest, edited by Jon K. Lauck, et al., Madison, Wisconsin Historical Society. [Forthcoming.]

"Seeking a Center for Ecopoetics." Valparaiso Poetry Review, vol. 12, no. 2, Spring/Summer 2011, https://www.valpo.edu/vpr/v12n2/v12n2prose/linstromseeking.php.

"A Savage Mountain Man and Clever Irony in Adventures of Huckleberry Finn." The Twainian, vol. 64, no. 2, 2008.

Poems

[Forthcoming.] "Pumpkin on the Porch." Atlanta Review, print and web.

"Snow-bound." The New Criterion, vol. 38, no. 6, February 2020, and online at https://newcriterion.com/issues/2020/2/snow-bound.

"To My Father, on the Table, Several States Away." North American Review, “Open Space” online feature, 24 December 2019, https://northamericanreview.org/open-space/my-father-table-several-states-away.

"Earth Room." About Place, "Infinite Country" issue, vol. 5, no. 4, Oct. 2019, https://aboutplacejournal.org/issues/infinite-country/east-rebirth/john-linstrom/.

"Disclaimer." Vallum: Contemporary Poetry, "Fear" issue, vol. 16, no. 2, 2019, p. 62.

"On the President's Announcement of Our Hashtag." Writers Resist, no. 95, 19 September 2019, http://www.writersresist.com/2019/09/19/on-the-presidents-announcement-of-our-hashtag/. Previously appeared in This Week in Poetry, 9 November 2015, https://thisweekinpoetry.wordpress.com/2015/11/09/on-the-presidents-announcement-of-our-hashtag/.

"Storm's Breath." Free State Review, no. 11, Late Summer / Early Fall 2019, p. 48.

"Blueshift." (Poem.) Cold Mountain Review, vol. 47, no. 2, Spring/Summer 2019, print and https://www.coldmountainreview.org/issues/spring-summer-2019/blueshift-by-john-linstrom.

"Leaving the Party." Alluvian, vol. 5, Spring 2019, http://alluvian.space/leaving-the-party-john-linstrom.

"Church of the Epiphany." Bridge Eight, 15 Dec 2018, https://www.bridgeeight.com/church-of-the-epiphany/.

"Day Sleepers." Commonweal Magazine, vol. 145, no. 15, 21 Sept. 2018, p. 13 and https://www.commonwealmagazine.org/day-sleepers.

"Ice Sheet Archive." Broad River Review, 50th Anniversary Issue, no. 50, 2018, p. 104.

"Sunrise, with Motherly Influence." Commonweal Magazine, vol. 145, no. 12, 6 July 2018, p. 44 and https://www.commonwealmagazine.org/poem-sunrise-motherly-influence.

"Annual Thaw." Commonweal Magazine, vol. 145, no. 11, 15 June 2018, p. 8 and https://www.commonwealmagazine.org/annual-thaw.

"Found in the City." Commonweal Magazine, vol. 145, no. 11, 15 June 2018, p. 31 and https://www.commonwealmagazine.org/found-city.

"Sweet Potato Elegy." Commonweal Magazine, vol. 145, no. 9, 18 May 2018, p. 10 and https://www.commonwealmagazine.org/poem-sweet-potato-elegy.

"Losing Track of the Conversation." Dunes Review, vol. 22, no. 1, Spring/Summer 2018, pp. 47-8.

Three poems ("Soot of a Young Star," "Retting," and "Little Deaths"). Narrative Northeast, "Eco Issue," no. 5, 2018, http://www.narrativenortheast.com/?p=5337.

"What was Precious." Valparaiso Poetry Review, vol. 19, no. 1, Fall/Winter 2017-2018, https://www.valpo.edu/valparaiso-poetry-review/2018/01/04/john-linstrom-what-was-precious/.

"Out of State." Valparaiso Poetry Review, vol. 14, no. 2, Spring/Summer 2013, https://www.valpo.edu/vpr/v14n2/v14n2poetry/linstromout.php.

"Daedalus, Give Me the Farthest Distance Between Two Points." The Reed, Spring 2009, p. 4.

Literary Essays

Symphonies and Sweet Potatoes.” Newfound, vol. 10, no. 2, 2019, https://newfound.org/current-issue/nonfiction-john-linstrom/.

"Fuckaroo!" Prairie Gold: An Anthology of the American Heartland, edited by Lance Sacknoff, et al., North Liberty, IA, Ice Cube, 2014, pp. 166-78.